A look at one of the journalist winners of this year’s Nobel Peace Prize

The World

For the first time since 1935, the Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to journalists: Maria Ressa of the Philippines and Russian independent journalist Dmitry Muratov. The Norwegian Nobel Committee said the prize was awarded for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression against the growing threats against it. Ressa's work on Rappler, the online news site she co-founded, has focused on the autocratic policies of Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte. Marco Werman speaks with Sofia Tomacruz, a colleague of Ressa's at Rappler.